User Roles and Groups

User Roles and Groups

Summary


There are different types of groups through which the users' permissions are managed.

The article below guides us about the different levels of groups and how to manage users.

Different Groups and their Permissions level:


User Roles

Can

Cannot

Browsers

See all the devices

See any configuration

Operators

Browser permissions + 

Execute Jobs

Modify templates or add/remove nodes

Engineers

Operator permissions +

Modify nodes, sites, services, templates

Modify Modeling

Modelers

Engineer permissions +

Modify Modelling

Change user permissions

Managers

Modeler permissions +

Modify user permissions

Modify system settings

System

Manager permissions +

Modify system settings



Manage users:

Add User

We will be creating a new user ID named Sam part of Engineer group

Admin -> Users & Groups -> Users -> New

Supply the User ID: Sam (In this case)

Saving this and changing the Group ID to Engineers -> Save


Set password

Scroll down to Authentication

Enter the New password and Confirmation password and select Set Password




Select Expire -> Save, this will prompt the user to change the password in next login 


Add users via CLI:

vendor_support.pl add NetYCE NetYCE NetYCE01.

This will create user NetYCE of group NetYCE using password NetYCE01 as a system user.

Modify User permissions

User permissions are defined by the Group to which the user belongs.  Changing the group will change the user permissions/level.


For ex: If we want to upgrade the user Sam from Engineer to Manager, below are the steps to follow.

Admin -> Users & Groups -> Users -> Sam -> Group ID -> Managers -> Save


Resetting User Password

If we have to reset the password, this would be similar to the password set process earlier discussed.

.

Below is the example of resetting the password for the user Sam

Admin -> Users & Groups -> Users -> Sam -> Authentication ->  New password (type the password) -> Confirmation (type the confirmation password) -> Set Password

Select Expire -> Save, this will prompt the user to change the password in next login 

Delete User

If the user is no longer required, we can delete the users from the database.  


Below is an example of deleting the user name Sam.

Admin -> Users & Groups -> Users -> Sam -> Delete


Note


Free license would allow you to use only one user login.  Though it allows us to create new users but may not be able to use them.  


Graphical representation of different user roles

Below is a graphical representation of what permissions different user roles have.



    • Related Articles

    • Installing the NetYCE software

      After successfully applying for the free download you will receive an email which allows you to verify your account, after clicking the  button, a webpage will open with the actual download link:  Click the "Download" button to download the .ova ...
    • Adding Nodes

      Introduction/Summary The first step in network automation is to update the inventory. NetYCE has two types of inventory, one is called CMDB (Configuration Management DataBase) nodes and the other is YCE (Source of Truth) nodes CMDB Nodes need minimum ...
    • How to verify and update NetYCE software

      Introduction On a regular basis, there will be upgrades to the netYCE software. The upgrade can be done through the web interface. Download the latest distribution from here Steps to check the software version Below are the steps to check for the ...
    • License install/update

      License can be updated via GUI or CLI.  Incase if front-end is not accessible due to license expiry then we have to update it via CLI. Update using GUI Accessing license info (1) Admin -> System -> System Status -> (2) Full report        Scroll down ...